

Juan Sastre Ph.D.

Professor of Physiology at the University of Valencia, Spain

Address: Department of Physiology, School of Pharmacy, University of Valencia, Avda. Vicente

Andrés Estellés s/n, 46100 Burjasot (Valencia), Spain

Email: juan.sastre@uv.es; Phone: 34-963543815; Fax: 34-963543395

Research

Juan Sastre was born in Valencia, Spain, in 1963. He graduated in Pharmacy at the University of Valencia, and obtained his PhD in 1989 doing a Doctoral Thesis on oxidative stress and aging of the liver supervised by Prof. José Viña and Prof. Federico V. Pallardó. After staying in the Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University (Boston, USA), King's College London (UK), and Unité INSERM 99 at the Hôpital Henri Mondor (France), he returned to the Department of Physiology of the University of Valencia to work first as Assistant Professor and later as Titular Professor. He has teaching experience in Human Physiology from 1987, in Human Pathophysiology from 1998, and in Hematology from 2003 to date.

Juan Sastre is Full Professor of Physiology at the University of Valencia since 2006 and his research work focuses on the role of oxidative stress and redox signaling in Gastroenterology, particularly in acute pancreatitis and liver cirrhosis. He has published more than 150 papers on oxidative stress, glutathione, antioxidants, mitochondria, aging, apoptosis, cytokines, protein phosphatases, redox signaling, histone acetylation, acute pancreatitis, and secondary biliary cirrhosis. He has obtained different awards for his research work: "Catherine Pasquier Memorial Award 2005" given by the Society for Free Radical Research (Europe) for his relevant scientific achievements in the area of free radical research; "Harwood Young Investigator Award" for free radical research 1998, given by the Society for Free Radical Research (Europe); and "García Blanco" medal in 1992 given to young researchers in Biomedicine by the School of Medicine of Valencia (Spain). Juan Sastre was General Secretary of SFRR-Europe from 2013 till 2020; and since January 2023, he is President of SFRR-E.